Keyword Search
Filter by these locations:
Listing Type
Museums & Interpretive Centres
Add this location
to my itinerary

Niagara Falls History Museum



Left: The  Niagara Falls History Museum began life as the Stamford Township Hall, built of limestone in 1874 by prominent local architect John Latshaw. Top right: While Stamford Township Hall undergoes renovation, the Museum's temporary home (until July 2012) is the Victora Avenue Armoury.  Bottom right: The museum building was designated as a Heritage Landmanrk under the Ontario Heritage Act, Part IV in 1974.
(Photos: Kristin Atkinson and Cavelle Schmidt) 


General Information

Take a step back into time...discover original artifacts and fascinating stories from Niagara's past at the Niagara Falls History Museum (formerly the Lundy's Lane Historical Museum). Exhibitions reflect the unique and varied history of the City, with particular emphasis on the War of 1812, Early Tourism, the Building of the City, Black History, and the Loretto Academy. The Museum is owned by the City of Niagara Falls and operated by the City of Niagara Falls Museums.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Until Thanksgiving 2011, the Museum is temporarily located at the Victoria Avenue Armoury, 1049 VICTORIA AVE, Niagara Falls, Ontario. It will be CLOSED between October 2011 and REOPEN IN JULY 2012 in its newly renovated permanent home in historic Stamford Township Hall on the War of 1812 battlefield at Lundy’s Lane.


The museum showcases a wide range of exhibits pertaining to the City of Niagara Falls and its role as a celebrated tourism destination, including memorabilia and historic prints of Niagara Falls and a world class collection of Niagara Falls souvenir china and postcards in the museum's gift shop.


The museum also prides itself on its extensive collection of artifacts from the War of 1812. Information is available about the significant battles that took place during the war, including the Battle of Chippawa, The Battle of Lundy's Lane, and The Battle at Queenston Heights. 


The Niagara Falls History Museum also provides a glimpse into life in the city of Niagara Falls of yesteryear, and provides interactive interpretation about how the city has evolved into one of the most popular tourism destinations in the world.

The Niagara Falls History Museum is also active within the local community. Museum staff and volunteers provide guided tours of other areas in Niagara Falls that share a history of the War of 1812. These include the Battleground Hotel and Museum and the Drummond Hill Cemetery. They are also involved in local school programs with students of all grade levels, fostering interest in their city's rich history. 


Photo Gallery


Community TripClip Audio File

(more about TripClips...)









Click to play or download Lundy's Lane Historical Museum TripClip (mp3 format), a Community TripClip submitted by Cavelle Schmidt and Kristin Atkinson. Note that contents are current to December 2009, and that several changes have occurred at the Museum since then.


This destination is also part of the Battlefields of The War of 1812 Tour.


Hours of Operation

Closed Thanksgiving 2011 - July 21, 2012 to prepare for the new Museum.


Regular hours:

10:00am to 5:00pm Daily
Closed Good Friday, Easter Sunday, Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day

The new Niagara Falls History Museum Grand Opening is on July 21, 2012.




From Toronto:

  • QEW Hamilton/Niagara to Hwy 420
  • Take the ramp to the right to Hwy 420
  • Right on Stanley Avenue
  • Right on Ferry Street
  • Museum is located on the left hand side of the street at 5810 Ferry Street

From the USA (Rainbow Bridge):


  • Exit customs to Falls Avenue, then follow it to the right, to Roberts Street/Hwy 420
  • Left on Stanley Avenue
  • Turn right onto Ferry Street
  • Museum is located on the left hand side of the street at 5810 Ferry Street


From Niagara Falls:

  • Head south on Victoria Avenue towards Crawford Place
  • Continue onto Ferry Street
  • Museum is located on the left hand side at 5810 Ferry Street



The Niagara Falls Historical Museum is also a significant repository of information and artifacts pertaining to Black history and heritage in Niagara.



The building which houses the Niagara Falls History Museum was erected in 1874 on the site of the Battle of Lundy's Lane, and originally served as the Stamford Township Hall.  John Latshaw, a prominent local architect, was the designer for what is now one of the few remaining structures from that time period in the City of Niagara Falls. 


The Lundy's Lane Historical Museum was established in 1961 by the Lundy's Lane Historical Society and originally opened in the Mackenzie House on Drummond Road. In 1962, the Museum was turned over to the City of Niagara Falls.  In 1970 the Museum moved from its former site at Drummond Road and Lundy's Lane to its present home on Ferry Street.


The name of the museum was changed in May 2010 from "Lundy's Lane Historical Museum" to "Niagara Falls History Museum", a change which better reflects its broad interest in all aspects of the history of Niagara Falls. There will also be extensive changes to the building and premises - the 1812 Legacy Project is an exciting initiative which will renovate and improve the the Niagara Falls History Museum, improve access to the Lundy’s Lane National Historic Site, and provide visitors with a much better understanding of the unique history of the City of Niagara Falls, the War of 1812 and the Battle of Lundy’s Lane. Read more about the 1812 Legacy Project here.


The Museum welcomes your support. Visit http://www.niagarafallshistorymuseum.ca/ for further information about how you can help.


Above: Architect's rendering of the Gallery, planned for the museum after renovation.




The Niagara Falls History Museum is located on one of the most significant battlegrounds from the War of 1812, just a few minutes away from Drummond Hill Cemetary.

The museum is also a 5 minute drive from popular tourist destinations such as Clifton Hill, Queen Victoria Park, and the Canadian Horseshoe Falls.



Further Information


The Official War of 1812 Bicentennial Website. Historic Sites and Museums. December 2, 2009.  http://www.visit1812.com/historic-sites/BattlegroundHotelMuseum.html 


Social Media links:




This webpage was prepared by Brock University Tourism and Environment students Kristin Atkinson and Cavelle Schmid in December 2009, and revised by the webmaster in September 2011. TripClip narration by Kristin Atkinson, photos by Cavelle Schmid and Kristin Atkinson.




Ownership & Management

City of Niagara Falls; operated by the City of Niagara Falls Museums


Facilities for researchers

Free Parking

Gift Shop

Public Washrooms on site

Admission Fee

Adults $3 Seniors $2.50 Students $2.50 Children $2 Under 6 Free


Niagara Falls History Museum
5810 Ferry Street
Niagara Falls, Ontario
L2G 1S9


(905) 358-5082

GPS Co-ordinates

Latitude 43.0894816
Longitude -79.0911801


Clark Bernat
City of Niagara Falls Museums
5049 Victoria Avenue
Niagara Falls, ON
L2E 4E2
Tel (905) 358-5082
Fax (905)-358-0920
Email nfhmuseum@niagarafalls.ca
Website http://www.niagarafallshistorymuseum.ca/

Surface features 

Down the street from the Drummond Hill Cemetary, where the battle of Lundy's Lane took place

Please register or login to add your review to this article.
GPS Map Shoes Compas Travel Bag
  • No POIs selected
Niagara Original Logo