Keyword Search
Filter by these locations:
Listing Type
Call Ahead Logo
Add this location
to my itinerary

Oban Inn


 Left: The Oban Inn from parking lot; Right: Oban Inn sign



General Information

Experience the ultimate in soothing luxury - personal service, stunning rooms, the finest spa in the Niagara Region and great, great food. Whether you're in Niagara-on-the-Lake visiting family, seeking relaxation or simply looking for a place to stay, the Oban Inn more than meets your accommodation needs. There are 26 guestrooms to choose from, the delightful restaurant and the calming Ospa facility for an unforgettable tranquil experience.


Captain Duncan Milloy of Oban, Scotland, built the house in 1824. Milloy opened his private home to guests, and thus began a practice that has continued ever since. An unfortunate fire occured in 1992 on Christmas Day. However, the facility was rebuilt as a faithful replica of how it once was and reopened in 1993, resuming all operations to meet the needs of the guests.


The Oban Inn is an integral landmark that contributes to the historical ambience of Niagara-on-the-Lake. It is located within walking distance of shopping boutiques, theatres, scenic trails and Niagara’s wine tasting shops. The Oban Inn directly overlooks Lake Ontario and the Niagara-on-the-Lake Golf Club, North America’s oldest golf course established in 1875.


Hours of Operation

Open Year-Round


Photo Gallery



TripClip Audio File - Oban Inn



From Toronto:

QEW exit 38B, (Hwy. 55 exit), Niagara-on-the-Lake 


Left (north) on Glendale Avenue and drive over the QEW overpass


Left (west) on York Road at lights and service centre with washrooms


Right (north) on Niagara Stone Road/Regional Road 55


Right (east) on Queen Street


Left (north) at Gate Street


Oban Inn is located at the corner of Front Street and Gate Street

From Niagara Falls:

River Road/Niagara River Parkway north towards Niagara-on-the-Lake


Left (west) on John Street (Kurtz Orchards will be on corner)


Right (north) on King Street


Left at Front Street


Oban Inn is located at the corner of Front Street and Gate Street



Captain Duncan Milloy, a sailor from Oban, Scotland, decided to build his home on the corner of Front and Gate Street in 1824. His wife and three kids, William, Colin and Effie lived in the house, while Captain Milloy built and sailed the third “City of Toronto". Captain Milloy and his two sons served in Council, Captain Milloy for two years, William for three and Colin for six. William Milloy is said to be the one that named “Oban Inn” after the old hometown of the family in Scotland.  William eventually came to run it as a boarding house until his death. Oban Inn was then passed ownership to Effie, his sister and her husband Arthur Harvey. Ownership of Oban Inn came to be passed along many families and individuals, and still managed to operate successfully.


Christmas Day, in 1992 Oban Inn experienced a devastating fire, which left only the foundation of house intact.  As previously discussed, the inn was rebuilt as an exact replica. Then in 2006, the inn underwent further renovations, while still striving to preserve its natural authenticity. 

Adjacent Land Uses

Oban Inn is situated two blocks from the main street, and walking distance to all Niagara-on-the-Lake attractions.  Niagara-on-the-Lake is a Canadian historical town, enriched with many attractions, such as the host of the Shaw Festivaland is a part of Ontario's wine and viticulture country. There are many scenic trails along the Niagara River that provide recreational activity, such as cycling, running or simply walking your dog. There is also the opportunity to play around of golf at the Niagara-on-the-Lake Golf Club, which is considered the oldest golf course in North America, established in 1875.  There are over 20 wineries nestled in Niagara-on-the-Lake that provide wine tours, taste testing and more.  In close proximity there are also the three Shaw Festival theatres that host unforgettable performances.


Further Information

Carnochan, J. History of Niagara. Toronto: William Briggs, 1914.


Cumberland, Barlow. A Century of Sail and Steam on the Niagara River. Chapter 4: Expansion of Steamboating on the Niagara. 1846.

Niagara-on-the-Lake Chamber of Commerce


Niagara Reminiscences


This web page was created by Deanna Welsh in December 2009. TripClip narration and photos by Deanna Welsh. I would like to thank Dave Brown and Carla Carlson for their help in the creation of this page.

Ownership & Management

Si Wai Lai


Oban Inn offers 26 guestrooms, allowing guests to choose from deluxe, premium or suite. All rooms include amenities such as, LCD plasma television with cable, room service, luxury cotton robes and 16-inch pillow top mattress.

Beautiful ponds and English gardens surround Oban Inn. There are exercise facilities, an outdoor pool and hot spring, as well as a steam room.

Since its beginning in 1824, the long tradition of the Oban Inn dining experience has been enjoyed by generation after generation of returning guests.

Dine in the delightful sunroom overlooking lush English gardens, or cozy historic Shaw’s Corner and in the chic elegance of our fireside dining room.

Savour delicious ‘Four Diamond’ creations combining Oban classics with modern gastronomy focusing on the Niagara Region’s fresh ingredients married with the outstanding harvest of Niagara Wines as chosen by the sommelier.

‘One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well’
Virginia Woolf

In 2005, Oban Inn experienced a remarkable change when it decided to provide guests and locals with Ospa. The wellness / health seeking facility offers spa treatments such as facials, hand and foot treatment, reflexology, full body massages and more. Ospa also offers packaged deals, which incorporate escorted bicycle or standard tours to selected Niagara wineries.

Conference & Meeting Rooms
Oban Inn provides two different conference rooms, the Milloy and the Library, that are well-equipped rooms with modern day technology to meet the needs of any business or organization.

Admission Fee

May-October (2009) room rates begin at $260 +GST November-April (2009) room rates begin at $150 +GST


160 Front Street
P.O. Box 94
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
L0S 1J0


(905) 468-2165

GPS Co-ordinates

Latitude 43.2594239
Longitude -79.0735725
UTM easting 656359.5578463518
UTM northing 4791425.772965435


Tel (905) 468-2165
Fax (905) 468-4165
Toll free 1-866-359-6226
Email obgsa@obaninn.ca

Please register or login to add your review to this article.
GPS Map Shoes Compas Travel Bag
  • No POIs selected
Niagara Original Logo